1
0
-1

My mailbox is full and I am over quota.  When I try to delete email I get an error like the one below:

ERROR: Could not complete request.
Query: COPY 3519 "INBOX.Trash"
Reason Given: [ALERT] You exceeded your mail quota.

How can I clear up quota space if I can't delete any email?

    CommentAdd your comment...

    2 answers

    1.  
      1
      0
      -1

      When you try to delete an email message, many email clients will move the message in to the Deleted Items or Trash folder.  Of course, a "move" is actually a "copy and delete" to be sure you don't lose a message.

      If your quota is full you may not be able to delete any messages.

      In SquirrelMail, you can change your options so that messages are not "moved" to the Trash folder, and instead are immediately deleted.

      Do the following to change this option:

      1. Login to SquirrelMail. (Here's information on how to do so)
      2. Click Options.
      3. Click Folder Preferences.
      4. Under the Trash Folder drop down select [Do not Use Trash].
      5. Click Submit.

      Delete your email, with the realization that your messages will be immediately permanently deleted.

      Once you have cleared your quota you can change the Trash Folder option back to INBOX.Trash.


        CommentAdd your comment...
      1.  
        1
        0
        -1

        Empty whatever is in the Trash bin first.  Once you create some room, you can delete from the inbox and check the "bypass trash" box.

        I try to avoid the problem altogether by pulling all messages from squirrel mail into a related gmail account and deleting from the squirrel mail source, but depending on the account this is not always possible.

        Ann of LOYAL

        1. Richard Saffell [RG]

          Ann, this strategy may not always work. We've seen a lot of users get to where their quota is full, and their trash is empty. They can't "delete" messages because a "delete" is actually a copy to the Trash folder, then a delete of the original message, so 2x storage is needed temporarily for each message. That's why changing the Preference shown above is necessary so the message is deleted from the original mailbox and not copied to Trash. But yes, using a POP account or an IMAP w/ delete account would keep you well under your quota and prevent this issue altogether. Hope that makes sense.

        CommentAdd your comment...